Visual Arts

  • SpainLeica Fiesta in Spain
    Madrid’s PHotoESPAÑA 2017 ranges from 100 Years of Leica Photography to spotlights on Elliot Erwitt and Minor White.

  • Faceless Women
    Can you spot the women in these photographs? Patty Carroll talks about her evocative project Anonymous Women.


  • Stars at the Lucies
    At Carnegie Hall, the 14th Annual Lucie Awards spotlight photography’s stylistic and geographic diversity.

  • Artistic Proving Groundwinters
    In The Grey Ghost, Dan Winters turns his lens to the NYC streets  in the tradition of Steiglitz, Strand, and Callahan.

  • Best Photobooks Fall 2016best-books
    From new monographs to unseen work by photographic masters, a crop of books full of dazzling surprises.

  • 16 Shows at PHotoEspaña 16PHE16
    Madrid’s annual photo festival showcases women artists in a wide-ranging set of exhibitions throughout the summer.

  • Dylan bookBest Photobooks Summer 2016
    Bob Dylan off duty, Mexican border meditations, scenes from the Libyan revolution, and other delights in the book world.




  • MisrachBeing(s) in the Landscape
    A showcase of Richard Misrach images renders solitary figures within grandiose natural environs.

  • Sex & RevolutionSex & Revolution
    Madrid’s PHotoEspaña festival probes Latin American themes including revolutionary politics, sensuality, and feminism.


  • state-of-mindLone Star State of Mind
    Artist Nancy Newberry’s cinematic scenes of Texana fuse the real and the imagined, the past and the present.

  • LarforetFilmmaking Trade Secrets
    Vincent Laforet shares his tips for making the transition from still photography to film: The camera bag is his toolbox.

  • diy-photobooks1Self-Publish or Perish
    New indie and DIY models are reshaping the ways artists create and market books to showcase their work.

  • photoespancc83a-14Photography Fragmented
    In the age of information overload, what defines a photograph? Madrid’s PHotoEspaña 2014 seeks answers.

  • rankin-rollRankin Roll
    An unfettered look at the visual odyssey of Britain’s creator of Dazed and Confused and Another Magazine.

  • books-of-the-yearBest Photobooks of 2014
    Hardly a lost art: These 50+ titles prove that the photo and the printing press were made for each other.

  • digitalvfilmPixels vs Frames
    Is digital replacing film in the movies? Is that good? A recent doc hosted by Keanu Reeves shows both sides.

  • Best Photobooks of 2013 Books
    From pop culture to photojournalism, fine art to environmental studies, photography books worth checking out.

  • PHE13Intimacy & Death
    The 2013 PHotoEspaña was a riveting showcase of eroticism, politics, and morbidity (among other things).

  • The Last RollGoodbye Kodachrome
    Kodachrome film has dazzled fans since the 1930s. Steve McCurry takes it around the world on a final assignment.

Making Wild Things
Max Records, star of Where the Wild Things Are, talks about working with Spike Jonze on the film of the classic kids’ book.


PREVIOUS   |   HOME   |   NEXT